The fifteen subject sections, along with the names of their conveners and provisional information about the thematic panels, are indicated below.

Keynote Speeches:
Romila Thapar (Emeritus Professor, Jawaharlal Nehru University)
Masaaki Hattori (Emeritus Professor, Kyoto University)

  1. Veda – Masato Fujii, Arlo Griffiths
    (One or two thematic panels on the Paippalāda, Jaiminīya and Vādhula texts and traditions are being planned by the conveners and Yasuke Ikari.)
  2. Linguistics – Jared S. Klein, Kazuhiko Yoshida
  3. Epics and Purāṇas – James L. Fitzgerald, Christopher Minkowski, Yuko Yokochi (Two thematic panels are being planned.)
  4. Āgamas and Tantras – Shingo Einoo, Dominic Goodall
    Thematic panel: Relations between Buddhist and Śaiva Tantra (organisedby Dominic Goodall and Shingo Einoo)
  5. Vyākaraṇa – George Cardona, Ashok Aklujkar, Hideyo Ogawa
  6. Poetry, Drama and Aesthetics – Gary A. Tubb, Yigal Bronner
  7. Sanskrit and Regional Languages and Literatures – Takanobu Takahashi, Yoshifumi Mizuno
  8. Scientific Literature – Dominik Wujastyk, Michio Yano
    Thematic panel: Physicians and Patients: Textual and Visual Representations in Pre-Modern South Asia (organised by Karin Preisendanz)
  9. Buddhist Studies – Akira Saito, Helmut Krasser, Kazunobu Matsuda
    Thematic panel: Scriptural Authority and Apologetics in the Indian Religio-Philosophical Environment (organised by Vincent Eltschinger and Helmut Krasser)
  10. Jaina Studies – Shin Fujinaga, Nalini Balbir, Fumio Enomoto, Peter Flügel
  11. Philosophy – Shoryu Katsura, Mark Siderits, Kiyotaka Yoshimizu
    Thematic panel: On the Historiography and Periodization of Indian Philosophy (organised by Eli Franco)
    Thematic panel: Yoga in Philosophical and Narrative Literature (organised by Stuart Ray Sarbacker)
  12. History of Religion – Noel Sheth, Muneo Tokunaga
    (Diachronic study e.g., tracing the history of yoga or bhakti, or synchronic interrelationship between religions e.g., between Hinduism and Buddhism, based on Sanskrit and/or Prakrit texts)
    Thematic panel: Hermeneutical Principles and Techniques as Found in Sanskrit and Prakrit Religious Texts (organised by Noel Sheth and Muneo Tokunaga)
  13. Ritual Studies – Yasuke Ikari, Shingo Einoo
  14. History, Epigraphy, and Art History – Hans Bakker, Diwakar Acharya, Keiji Sadakane
  15. Law and Society – Patrick Olivelle, Don Davis

In addition,

Panditapariṣad, organised by Rashtriya Sanskrit Sansthan

Kavisaṃmelana, presided over by Radhavallabh Tripathi

Thematic panel: Manuscripts: fieldwork, conservation, digitization (organised by Saraju Rath and Kenneth G. Zysk)